Success for Cumnor at the Cowley Blitz

This years Summer Blitz was a very successful tournament for the Cumnor players, 8 Cumnor Players came to see us pick up our second division trophy and Nick pick up the Bernard C Wyatt Memorial Trophy was awarded to the player with the best game points percentage in Division 2.

I counted 8 Cumnor Players (second only to Cowley) who won 5 prizes.

Please see below for the report from Gerard O’Reilly

“This year’s Summer Blitz, held on Monday 24 June, attracted 52 players
from all over Oxfordshire. During the evening the OCA Prizegiving for
the season also took place, with the trophies being presented to winners
by our new OCA President, John Place.

Oxford University’s Filip Mihov score a decisive victory in the Blitz
with 9.5/10, two points clear of the rest of the field.

The complete list of prizewinners is as follows:
1st: Filip Mihov (Oxford University) 9.5
2nd=: Eldar Alizada (Cumnor) 7.5
2nd=: Mike Handley (Cowley)
4th: Graham McInnes (Didcot)) 7.5
Best visitor: Tom Shepherd (Bicester) 7.5
Best Cowley player: James Cole 7
Best U165: Nigel Moyse (Cumnor) 7
Best junior (U18): Daniel Varney (Cumnor) 6.5
Best lady: Maria Mate (Cowley) 6
Best Cowley U155 Rich Weston 6
Best visitor U155: Mark sayers (Cumnor) 6
Best U145: Ian Bush (Cumnor) 6
Best ungraded: Hashim Jusoh (Oxford University) 6
Best U14: Edison Xu (MCS/Blackbirds) 6
Best U130: Dester Murahwa (Cowley) 5
Best U12: Ivan Chetverikov (Cowley) 4
Best U10: Kei Macabenta (Cowley) 4
Best slow starter – 0/2: Stephen Ennis 5
Best very slow starter – 0/4: John Place (MCS/B)/Geoff Rasell (Cowley) 5

I am pleased to take the opportunity to thank all whose help contributed
to the success of the event:
Rose Hill Methodist Church for allowing us to play in the downstairs Hall;
the Kidlington Chess Tournament for the use of its equipment;
and those who kindly donated prizes for the event or made donations to
the Lester Millin Memorial Fund,
or helped clear up at the end of the evening.
And of course everyone who came along to play.

I am also particularly grateful to several of my fellow Cowley members
for their help, especially:
Bob Samuels and Dave Robson, for the transporting of equipment;
Selikem Amoako for help setting up the pieces before play;
Will Burt for various forms of help, especially for taking entries on
the door, assisted in the latter task by Bruno Currie;
Ian Bush for help with some announcements, and the new President of the
OCA, John Place, for presenting the prizes;
and ESPECIALLY our team of controllers, Tim Dickinson and Priscilla
Morris, who controlled the event very smoothly and efficiently.”

Gerard O’Reilly
(28 June 2019)

Published by

Liam Glenn

Liam has been coming to Cumnor Chess Club for a very long time. His interests include Chess, Oxford United, Chess and Chess. He shows you can be handsome and good at Chess.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.